“Just Me and My Crew”: On Film-Crew Roles

Developing a Crew

Rabiger (2003) says:

Before committing to crewmembers, assess not only their technical expertise and experience, but also their ideas and values… Technical acumen is important, but under stress their maturity and values become more so. Technical deficiencies can be remdied, but someone lacking maturity or positive responses to your work can quickly turn into dead weight.

— M. Rabiger, ‘Developing a Crew’, Directing: Film Techniques and Aesthetics, 2003.

I’d always thought the opposite. That is, I’ve never disagreed with the statement but always assumed that it might be immature of me to hold ideas and values in as high a position as technical expertise. I’d thought, surely, if they can take a nice shot, the mature thing to do is ‘just deal with’ the social incompatibilities. In a professional sense, and an academic one, this may be unavoidable. However, if it is avoidable, as Rabiger suggests, choosing to avoid it could contribute to higher quality work and a better quality outcome.

Where Do I Fit In?

At this early stage, I don’t know. I’m interested in many of the available crew positions and am eager to see where my practice and practice-led research take me. Some areas where I would currently gravitate towards are:

  • Directing
    • As I have Theatre Directing experience and an understanding of storytelling techniques
  • Script/Continuity Supervisor
    • This interests me a great deal, however, outside of an understanding of narrative, have no experience with
  • Camera Operator
    • I have some technical understanding here, but need to develop my skills further!
  • Editor
    • Same as the above
  • Sound Designer
    • And same again!

Conclusively, I am eager to have some practice working with crews, developing skills and finding my place(s) within a production.

Works Cited

Rabiger, M. Directing: film techniques and aesthetics, (pp. 385-400). 3rd ed. Boston: Focal Press, 2003.


*Feature Image Credit: New York City Graffiti One Hundred Fourteen http://www.tagsareknown.com/114.html

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

